What’s on Page 45…Another Place on the Planet

I’m the serious girl in our troupe of ChickLit writers. When I started writing, I thought I would use my sense of humor more, or write fantasy. Applying fingers to keyboard, I have found neither to be true. Yet.

All the way at the bottom is information about a giveaway of yummy caramels Whitney’s Goodies! Visit each author for another chance to win.

What'sonPage45

Another Place on the Planet

Lily met Charlie just over a year ago at a fundraising gala. She was trying to recover from the horrifying end of her first marriage. Charlie was a bad boy film director just trying to score. There was a magical connection between the two that Charlie respected. In return, Lily is clued into a deep sadness that he carries. After many provocative dances, they exchanged contact information and went their separate ways. But by chance, they meet up again a year later in a film course Charlie is teaching at the community college in Scottsdale, Arizona.

Now they are getting to know one another. After what looks like to Lily could have been a date, she invites Charlie in for coffee.On page 45, Lily learns the cause of that sadness that she has glimpsed again in their time together.

“Oh, Charlie, your son died? I’m so sorry! I didn’t know…I’m so sorry.” That was his sadness, and it sunk my heart…“And you’re being sued? That’s awful. That’s so sick.”

He nodded quickly, his eyes and hands pleading with me to hush so he could continue. “Welcome to Hollywood, baby,” he muttered. “Our little boy, Matty, was in my care when he died. It was the nanny’s night off. Alex, my wife at the time, Matty’s mother, was on location in New York and had to leave because… and well, the movie flopped, and they say it was because of her emotional state when she returned to work.”

“And they’re suing you? I don’t understand.”

“Rational people wouldn’t. They say his death was caused by my neglect.”

Lily finds out Matty was only fourteen months old. They also find out, on page 45, that they are both Christians, even though living out their faith hasn’t always been a priority, especially for Charlie, embroiled in the Hollywood lifestyle as he is. 

That being said, this isn’t “Christian” or “Inspirational” fiction. Their faith is a factor of their lives that helps but also hinders them throughout the Lilyland trilogy.

Another Place on the Planet is happily–ever–maybe. Book 2, Places Bright and Dark is darker. If they’re too intense, you can read some lighter fare by one of these fine chicklit authors in between. 

Both another Place on the Planet and Places Bright and Dark are available as Kindle ebooks for 99 cents. Book 3, tentatively titled Places Like Home is being written. Paperback editions will be available shortly.

Click on the Newsletter tab above and sign up to be informed when the paperback versions and book 3 are being released.

See what’s on Page 45 of the books by these fantastic authors–and enter to win-CARAMELS

Kristina Knight – http://www.kristiknight.blogspot.com

Pippa Franks – http://pippafranks.blogspot.com/2015/05/whats-on-page-45.html

Laura Kenyon – http://wp.me/p28QA1-1JR

Jayne Denker: http://wp.me/p2yU7r-gy

Amy Gettinger – http://amygettinger.com

Gina Henning – http://www.ginahenning.com/blog/2015/5/4/whats-on-page-45

Cat Lavoie – http://www.catlavoie.com

Jennifer Ammoscato – http://jenniferammoscato.com/blog

Lauren Clark – http://www.laurenclarkbooks.com/2015/05/12/pie-girls-whats-on-page-45/

Laura Chapman – http://www.change-the-word.com/2015/05/chicklitmay-whats-on-page-45.html

Celia Kennedy – http://womanreinventsself.blogspot.com/2015/05/whats-on-page-45.html

Jennifer Farwell – http://jenniferfarwell.com/2015/05/12/whats-on-page-45/

Glynis Astie – http://blog.glynisastie.com/2015/05/whats-on-page-45.html

Clodagh Murphy http://www.clodaghmurphy.com/blog

Stacey Wiedower – http://staceywiedower.com/blog/

Bethany Turner – www.abbyphelps.com/musings-from-abby-and-friends

Franky Brown – http://frankybrown.com

Tracy Krimmer –  http://www.tracykrimmer.com/2015/05/11/page45

Jillianne Hamilton – http://jillianne-hamilton.com/whats-on-page-45/

Catherine L. Hensley – www.catherinehensley.com

Becky Monson – http://www.beckymonson.com/#!blog/c1vi7

Georgina Troy – http://georginatroy.blogspot.com/2015/05/chicklitmay-whats-on-page-45.html

Zanna Mackenzie – http://www.zannamackenzie/blogspot.co.uk

Jennifer Collin – http://jennifercollin.blogspot.com/2015/05/whats-on-page-45.html

Monique McDonell –

Samantha March – http://samanthamarch.com/chicklitmay-whats-on-page-45/

Sky Greene – http://livinglifewithjoy.com/2015/05/11/chicklitmay-whats-on-page-45/

Whitney Dineen – http://whitneydineen.com/2015/05/04/page-45/

Maggie Le Page – http://hellopreciousbliss.com/

Kathryn Biel – http://kathrynbiel.blogspot.com/2015/05/whats-on-page-45.html

Meredith Schorr – http://wp.me/p2PJqp-xV

Karen M. Cox – http://wp.me/p3IgXQ-nH

Rachel L. Hamm – http://rlhammauthor.com/2015/05/03/whats-on-page-45/

T. A. Munroe –  https://tamunroe.com/2015/05/04/whats-on-page-…-on-the-planet/

Heather Balog – www.thebadmommydiaries.com

Jennie Marts – http://celiakennedy.weebly.com/promotions.html

Serena Clarke – <a title=”http://wp.me/p2Z7wj-XU&#8221;

 

CARAMEL GIVEAWAY!  

Holy cats, these sound good!

1poundcaramelsforchicklitmay

GRAND PRIZE: A one-pound package of caramels from Whitney’s Goodies http://whitneysgoodies.com/  Winner can choose their flavor from those listed below. Visit all the authors for 37 chances to win.

This giveaway is open to residents of the USA only.

The Girl Next Door (Crème Caramels): A scrumptious, full-bodied caramel. Old fashioned, melt-in-your-mouth bliss!

The Charmer (Chocolate Crème Caramels): This smooth, chocolate cream caramel will add panache to your day. An exquisite and elegant morsel, simply irresistible.

The Movie Star (Orange Crème Caramels): A timeless treat that will satisfy caramel fans of all ages. “The stuff that dreams are made of!”

The Bombshell (Lemon Crème Caramels): A bodacious bit of heaven with a bold citrus pallet. They will leave you satisfied and refreshed. Caramels are a girl’s best friend!

Always a Lady (Rose Caramels): A delicate bouquet of rose essence infuses this lovely caramel: alluring, tantalizing and reminiscent of another era. They are perfect for weddings and bridal showers. A definite for ladies who lunch or breakfast at Tiffany’s.

HOW TO ENTER: To enter, answer the following question in the comments section below. “In 4 or 5 words, why do you think Another Place on the Planet would be a good read?”

Entrants must leave their full name, along with an e-mail address (so we can contact the winner.) A winner will be chosen via Random.org on Tuesday, May 19th.

Advertisements

9 thoughts on “What’s on Page 45…Another Place on the Planet

  1. Pingback: What’s on Page 45 of Picture This? (Plus WIN Candy!) | Jayne Denker

  2. Pingback: What’s on Page 45 | I Picked Up a Pen One Day…

  3. Pingback: Page 45 | Whitney Dineen

  4. Pingback: What’s on Page 45 – International Chick Lit Week – Blogger Girl –

  5. Pingback: Sneak a peek at page 45 — plus a SWEET giveaway! | Skipping Midnight

  6. Pingback: What’s on Page 45? | Raucous Eucalyptus, Piteous Poodles

  7. Pingback: What’s on Page 45 | smilecries

  8. Pingback: Chick Lit May: What’s on Page 45? – Serena Clarke

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s